Playing Games

images-3

You said I play games, I know that is true
A thousand thoughts, doubts and hopes
Lie silenced by past experience.
Yet I hope my late night kisses convey
How much I wish you knew me
And how much I wish I knew you too
But can’t find the words to say.
If I’m wrong, as I often have been before
You should know how strong I am…and brave
If I were not to see you again,
The tears I’d cry would make me stronger
So don’t feel the need to pretend you care
Although of course, I wish you did.
These clichéd words have been said before
In old movies, the world over
But I’ll stop my games and tell the truth…
I fell in love the moment I saw you
Wearing your suit, carrying red roses
Your smile and voice, sold me right there.
And when you were sick, I felt my whole world
Might tumble in to create a void
That could never be filled.
And if you found yourself without youth or money
I would love you the same…perhaps even more.
So you’ll have to accept that no matter how far
Your heart is from mine
There will always be me in the world
Who’ll love you forever
For just being you.

Leave a Reply

