Three day quote challenge…

 

05122009

My second quote for the 3 day quote challenge is one written by an amazing christian healer, Mary Baker Eddy. I have heard many people have been healed by understanding this short verse. I personally have used this powerful verse to help me in times of trouble….usually physical pain.  By recognising we are made in Gods image and likeness and God is all in all….we are spiritual…real and eternal….brings about a calming influence on any situation because we are recognising Gods allness and therefore nothing else can have power over us…namely illness.

One afternoon after school my daughter and her friend were playing near my car. I was standing at the car in front talking to the other little girls mother. My daughter was sitting in the back seat of the car with both her legs hanging out. My daughter was pulling the door closed whilst her friend was trying to keep the door open.

Sensing danger, I walked toward the girls saying Don’t play with the door girls..” and with that my daughters friend let go of the door and my daughter was suddenly free to pull the door closed. It slammed into her shins at a huge force making me think it would surely shatter the bones in her legs. My daughter let out a huge scream and continued screaming while the other mother jumped out of her car to see what had happened.

I was so alarmed all I could say was..”Livvy let the door go on Rhiannas legs.” I didn’t  mean to sound as if I was accusing her daughter,  I was simply in shock and needed to comfort my daughter who was in great pain. To my surprise, the other mother put her daughter into their car and drove off. I would have hoped she might have helped by going into the school to get some ice.

All I could do was to jump into the backseat of the car with my daughter and try to calm her down. I started to say the following verse but I couldn’t remember it perfectly. My daughter joined in and we held each other close both trying to say it perfectly.  It didn’t matter that we couldn’t get it completely right…what did matter was the love and comfort we were sharing in those moments in the car and thinking about ourselves as the image of God and we were not material beings…subject to pain and illness…but we were spiritual beings…perfect, intact and eternal.

My daughter calmed down quickly. She has had many healings in the past so she was clearly receptive to thinking these thoughts.  After a while I ventured to look under her long winter uniform trousers. There was not a single mark on her little legs…not even any redness. It was as if the accident had never happened.  Whilst I had been annoyed that the other mother just drove off without offering to help, the opportunity to sit quietly and pray with my daughter had been made possible.

I thank Mary Baker Eddy for giving to this world such a wonderful method of healing. She understood what Jesus was trying to teach.  She studied the  Bible and Jesus’s healings and when she herself had been given up by doctors as not going to survive a serious fall on ice, she found inspiration within the Bible. She rose out of bed, dressed and never looked back. She was once the most famous woman in America..admired by popular figures of the time. ..Albert Einstein,  Mark Twain and Eleanor Roosevelt among a few. This passage alone can heal, her book, Science and Health has healed millions and is still selling over a century after its initial publication. Here is her Scientific Statement of Being. …..

“There is no life, truth, intelligence, nor substance in matter. All is infinite Mind and its infinite manifestation, for God is All-in-all. Spirit is immortal Truth, matter is mortal error. Spirit is the real and eternal; matter is the unreal and temporal. Spirit is God, and man is His image and likeness. Therefore man is not material, he is spiritual.”

Reference: Science and Health with key to the scriptures by Mary Baker Eddy

Pag468

Lines 8 -15

8 thoughts on “Three day quote challenge…

    1. I don’t think she needed to apologize…just understand that a child was hurt and in obvious pain and offer some assistance! As it turned out, it was our opportunity to be quiet and pray without any hysteria. Sometimes it’s hard to feel free to pray when a lot of people are around. …people can get suspicious when you mention God!!!

    2. I don’t think she needed to apologize…just understand that a child was hurt and in obvious pain and offer some assistance! As it turned out, it was our opportunity to be quiet and pray without any hysteria. Sometimes it’s hard to feel free to pray when a lot of people are around. …people can get suspicious when you mention God!!!

  1. am touched by this beautiful story, and like the famous saying everything happens for a reason am glad of the fact you looked upon the misfortune of the accident but felt the gratitude of praying with your daughter and also experiencing God’s healing with her! its a very special thing!

    1. It was a special moment especially seeing not a single mark on her legs. I have so many stories of healing….we should never doubt we are being looked after. ☺

    1. Thanks Truly. I will share some other healing stories in time. I have had some beautiful healings but wow. ..I continue to be thrown challenges. An aquaintance of mine told me ‘like gold is tested by fire…it’s purity will shine forth’. I’m trusting in that!

Leave a Reply

