The Wall

20170703_002927.pngWhen I expected support
You shut me down
Clearly too hard, too much to ask
Your wall has blocked my way before
As cold as stone
Unyielding
Crying at the gate
My tears you’ll never dry
They will never touch you
I give up trying and accept
Your ways are not mine
Can’t reason it out
Not any way around
Except to walk away
And know it’s your problem
Not mine
I feel sorry for you and your
Blackened heart
Because you need me
Not the other way around
I don’t need you
I know that now
So unless you change
I can walk away
Because I’ve compromised too much
For too long
For what purpose?
To come face to face
with your cold, cold heart
But this time it is different,
I can walk away.

Leave a Reply

